Happy Valentine’s Day… or whatever.

This next entry was meant to be a continuation of my Spring Festival adventures, but I just wanted to add a small sidenote on what’s going on in real time.

If you know me well, then you know I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day. I don’t hate the holiday, I just don’t see the point in celebrating it since it holds no personal value to me. Not to mention, the only person who could be my valentine is a 30-hour train ride away from me.

Sure, I got a little weepy seeing literally hundreds of couples blocking my way as I tried to weave through thick traffic on my back while on my way to meeting friends for dinner. And yes, it did get a little irritating when the third rose vendor tried to solicit roses to me when I clearly have no use for them. But I took the day in stride, went for a run, read in my cozy home, and enjoyed a lovely dinner.

But oh, Valentine’s Day… how you do sting!

When I came out of the restaurant, I looked for my bike. I looked and I looked… I looked for my loose right hand brake that doesn’t ever seem to stay in place. I looked for my trusty bright blue bell that I chose specifically so I could spot my bike in large crowds. I looked for my super-low seat that I’ve gotten raised, but that lasted for about a week, so I never bothered getting it raised again.

It was gone.

Honestly, it wasn’t a great bike. But having it stolen was like having this really warm memory of the first hand-me-down I received in Beijing taken away from me! It sounds silly and bikes get stolen all the time in Beijing, but I am so sad just thinking about learning to weave through Beijing traffic, taking my bike out to the Bird’s Nest back when the weather was still warm, and exploring the area around my campus when I first arrived.

Well, I hope that whomever decided it would be great to steal a lonely girl’s bike on Valentine’s Day really needed it and is enjoying it as much as I did.

If it’s any consolation, today was very windy, so I saw stars for the first time in months.

So Happy Valentine’s Day… or whatever.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy Valentine’s Day… or whatever.

  1. Briza

    Oh Hon! I’m so sorry!! See this is another example of my hatred for the day. I thought of you yesterday, and the article you wrote last year, and it made me smile, so I bought you a valentine. You’ll get it soon! I miss you!

Leave a Reply

